Lutheran Church of the Redeemer

Legend has it that Caliph Harun al-Rashid gave Charlemagne the land on which the Lutheran Church of the Redeemer now stands as a gift at the beginning of the 9th century. In 1064, the land became the property of a merchant from Amalfi, who built the church of St. Maria Latina on the site together with a monastery. The monastery was established in 1099 (i.e. in the early years of the Crusades) by the Knights Hospitaller, who were also known as the Order of St. John; their task was to provide care and nursing for pilgrims. After Saladin reconquered Jerusalem and forced the Crusaders to leave, the buildings were neglected for centuries and gradually fell into decay. However, the revivalist movements of the 19th century saw European Christians develop a new and far-reaching interest in the Holy Land. In 1869, Crown Prince Friedrich Wilhelm (as Kaiser Wilhelm II was then known) accordingly took possession of the eastern part of the old Muristan for Prussia. As early as 1871, the Chapel of St. John on the first floor of the cloister (formerly probably the refectory used by the Benedictine monks who once inhabited the building) was restored and used for German-language church services. At the same time, Berlin-based architect and architectural historian Friedrich Adler was commissioned to build the Church of the Redeemer on the site of the former Romanesque church of Santa Maria Latina. The foundation stone was laid in 1893.

The church itself was dedicated on Reformation Day, 31 October 1898, in the presence of the German Kaiser and his wife.

Location

The Lutheran Church of the Redeemer is located in the district known as the Muristan. The name comes from the Persian word “bimaristan” (hospital) and recalls the hospital that the Muslims ran here following the expulsion of the Crusaders. The Church of the Redeemer is only about one hundred metres away from the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. At the beginning of the Common Era, this was one of the highest places in the city.

The land surrounding the modern-day Church of the Redeemer became Prussian property in 1869. Initially, the plan was to rebuild the 12th century Crusaders’ church of St. Maria Latina, the ruins of which were still standing. However, following the first excavations and investigations of the site, the decision was made to build a completely new church – the present-day Lutheran Church of the Redeemer.

The Church of the Redeemer was built between 1893 and 1898 to a design by architect Friedrich Adler. It is located exactly two metres above its predecessor, which was built during the Crusades. It was dedicated on Reformation Day 1898 in the presence of the German Kaiser Wilhelm II and his wife Kaiserin Auguste Victoria.

Church interior

The church’s present-day furnishings were installed as part of the renovation work that took place between 1970 and 1974. The original interior of the Wilhelmine church underwent radical changes during the course of the renovations. The altar and pulpit were removed, as were all the paintings and mosaics on the walls and in the dome. Nowadays, a mosaic of Christ and the windows in the central apse are the only reminders of the church's former design.

The baptismal font now stands under the apse of the north aisle; a processional cross created for the church by artist Hubertus von Pilgrim was erected behind it in 1998. The icon in the apse of the south aisle was written by Benedictine nuns from the Mount of Olives for the Jerusalem Ecumenical Church Day in 1991. It is a reminder of the story of Noah and shows Christ in the Father’s image as He sets his rainbow in the sky as a sign of peace.

Today, the neo-Romanesque church is the centre of the German, Arabic-speaking and other Protestant communities in Jerusalem.

Mosaic of Christ

The only feature to survive the extensive renovation work carried out in the Church of the Redeemer is the mosaic of the head of Christ in the main apse. This mosaic forges a link from Kaiser Wilhelm II all the way back to Emperor Constantine:

before the church was renovated, the design in the main apse was similar to that in the apse of the Lateran Basilica in Rome, which was commissioned by Constantine. A very similar head of Christ is located there.

By building the Church of the Redeemer, Wilhelm II saw himself as perpetuating the tradition of Constantine.

The effect of this beautiful mosaic is such that visitors can stay in eye contact with Christ no matter where they are in the church.

Church windows

The church of 1898 had stained glass windows with ornamental patterns predominantly in red and yellow, as can still be seen in the main apse today.

These windows were badly damaged during the wars of 1948 and 1967, as a result of which new glass windows were installed in 1971.

The new windows were created by Jewish glass painter Anna Andersch-Marcus (1914-2005).

They are installed at three different heights and use abstract shapes and blocks of colour to portray the central theme: “Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord. Lord, hear my voice” (Psalm 130:1-2) „Aus der Tiefe rufe ich, Herr, zu Dir. Herr, höre meine Stimme“ (Psalm 130,1-2)

Previous
Next

Tower and bells

Visitors can climb the tower from the church. The first 177 steps lead up to the belfry.

Inscriptions on the three bells (all made by master bell founder Franz Schilling from Apolda):

  • “COMFORT YE, COMFORT YE MY PEOPLE / SPEAK YE COMFORTABLY TO JERUSALEM (Isaiah 40:1-2) 1897”
  • “CHRIST HAS OBTAINED ETERNAL / REDEMPTION (HEB. 9:12) 1897”
  • “BUT JERUSALEM WHICH IS ABOVE / IS FREE / WHICH IS THE MOTHER OF US ALL (GAL. 4:26) 1897”

From the belfry, another staircase leads up to the highest arcade walkway approx. 40 m above the ground. The bell tower is the only one of its kind at the heart of the Old City. The panoramic view from the top is therefore unique. Right next to the Church of the Redeemer, you see the covered bazaar streets and the residential districts in the Jewish, Christian, Armenian and Muslim Quarters.

To the south, you look past David Street to the Jewish Quarter with the Wailing Wall. The city of David lies beyond the city walls.

To the south-west, you look past the Armenian Quarter to the Dormition Abbey. Further west, the so-called Tower of David stands out against the panorama of the New City.

The “Muristan” is located just west of the Church of the Redeemer in the city’s Christian Quarter. The Franciscan Church of the Saviour dominates the north-west of this quarter.

Just north of the Church of the Redeemer is the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, the holiest place in Christendom. Beyond it to the north-east, you can look over the Arab Quarter with the Austrian Hospice, St. Anne’s Church on the Pool of Bethesda, and the Via Dolorosa.

To the east of the Church of the Redeemer is the former Jewish Temple Mount, now the Haram esh-Sharif, with the Dome of the Rock and the al-Aqsa Mosque. Finally, you can look beyond the Kedron Valley to Mount Scopus with the Hebrew University and to the Mount of Olives with the ascension churches, the Jewish cemetery and the “Auguste Victoria Compound”, which houses our Church of the Ascension, the Auguste Victoria meeting centre with its café, and the German Protestant Institute of Archaeology (GPIA).

Organ

In 1971, organ builder Karl Schuke GmbH, Berlin, built the Church of the Redeemer's organ in the newly constructed west gallery. It replaced the old organ built by Berlin-based company Dinse at the time the church was constructed, to which Weigle from Stuttgart added another 33 stops in 1938. Parts of the housing of this organ, which stood slightly elevated in the left transept, were used to build the organ in the great hall of the University of Haifa.

Another three reed stops were added to the present-day Schuke organ in 1984; it now has 21 stops, two manuals and one pedalboard. The stop and key action are mechanical.

As well as the Schuke organ, the church also has a so-called choir organ. The Church of the Redeemer’s choir organ stands in the north aisle and was built in 1965 by the Wilhelmshaven-based company Alfred Führer. From this time on, it stood in the organ gallery of the Chapel of St. John in the cloister of the Church of the Redeemer. In 2015, it was mobilised and moved into the Church itself. It has been tuned to the same pitch as the Schuke organ.

Exhibition

The exhibition in the medieval cloister consists of a display of artefacts from the history of the Church of the Redeemer and the surrounding residential area, the “Muristan”, and illustrates the questions asked and working methods used by archaeologists. Of particular interest are the finds dating back to the times of Herod the Great, Jesus of Nazareth and the Emperors Hadrian and Constantine. The exhibition also focuses on the history of the medieval “Muristan” and on pilgrim life in those times. The tour “Through the Ages” appropriately ends with the church work now performed by “Evangelical in Jerusalem” and other Protestant communities in the region.

http://www.church-of-the-redeemer-jerusalem.info/ausstellung/index#top

Excavations

Bei den Ausschachtungsarbeiten zur Errichtung der Erlöserkirche kam es 1893 zu einer archäologischen „Sensation“: Bauarbeiter stießen auf eine Mauer, die Gelehrte als die antike Stadtmauer zur Zeit Jesu identifizierten, von der schon der jüdische Geschichtsschreiber Josephus Flavius berichtet. Die sogenannte „Zweite Nordmauer Jerusalems“ schien gefunden.

http://www.church-of-the-redeemer-jerusalem.info/ausgrabung/index#top

Die Erlöserkirche

Die Überlieferung erzählt, dass bereits Karl der Große das Gelände, auf dem die Erlöserkirche heute steht, zu Beginn des 9. Jahrhunderts als Geschenk des Kalifen Harren al-Raschid erhalten habe. Im Jahre 1064 ging das Grundstück in den Besitz eines Kaufmanns aus Amalfi über. Die Kirche Santa Maria Latina und ein zugehöriger Konvent entstand. Der Mönchskonvent formierte sich zu Beginn der Kreuzfahrerzeit 1099 als Hospitaliter- bzw. Johanniterorden und widmete sich der Versorgung und Pflege der Pilger*innen. Nachdem die Kreuzfahrer nach der Rückeroberung Jerusalems durch Saladin das Land verlassen mussten, lagen die Gebäude über Jahrhunderte verlassen da und verfielen langsam. Mit den Erweckungsbewegungen des 19. Jahrhunderts wuchs ein neues, breites Interesse europäischer Christ*innen am Heiligen Land. Im Jahr 1869 konnte so der damalige Kronprinz Friedrich-Wilhelm den östlichen Teil des alten Muristan für Preußen in Besitz nehmen. Bereits 1871 wurde die Johanniterkapelle im ersten Stock des Kreuzgangs (wahrscheinlich das Refektorium der Benediktiner, die das Gebäude einst bewohnten) wiederhergestellt und für die deutschsprachigen Gottesdienste genutzt. Gleichzeitig erhielt der Berliner Architekt und Bauhistoriker Friedrich Adler den Auftrag, die Erlöserkirche auf dem Grundriss der ehemaligen romanischen Kirche Santa Maria Latina zu errichten. 1893 wurde der Grundstein der Kirche gelegt.

Am Reformationstag, dem 31. Oktober 1898, wurde sie in Gegenwart des deutschen Kaiserpaares eingeweiht.

Lage

Die Erlöserkirche steht auf dem Gebiet des so genannten Muristan. Der Name kommt aus dem persischen „Bimaristan“, Krankenhaus, weil nach der Vertreibung der Kreuzfahrer Muslime hier ein Krankenhaus unterhielten. Nur ungefähr hundert Meter entfernt befindet sich die Grabeskirche. Um die Zeitenwende war dieser Ort einer der höchsten Punkte der damaligen Stadt.

Das Gebiet um die heutige Erlöserkirche kam 1869 in den Besitz Preußens. Zunächst beabsichtigte man den unmittelbaren Wiederaufbau der noch in Ruinen erhaltenen Kreuzfahrerkirche St. Maria Latina aus dem 12. Jh. n. Chr. Bei den ersten Grabungen und Untersuchungen des Geländes entschied man sich aber für einen kompletten Neubau – die heutige Erlöserkirche.

Die Erlöserkirche wurde in den Jahren von 1893 bis 1898 nach Plänen des Architekten Friedrich Adler errichtet. Sie befand sich nun exakt zwei Meter über ihrem Vorgängerbau aus der Kreuzfahrerzeit. Sie wurde am Reformationstag des Jahres 1898 im Beisein des deutschen Kaisers Wilhelm II. und seiner Frau Kaiserin Auguste Victoria eingeweiht.

Kirchenraum

Die Kirche erhielt ihre heutige Ausstattung während der Renovierung in den Jahren 1970 bis 1974.  Die ursprüngliche Innenausstattung der wilhelminischen Kirche wurde bei diesen Renovierungen radikal verändert. So entfernte man Altar und Kanzel sowie sämtliche Malereien und Mosaike an den Wänden und in der Kuppel. Heute erinnern nur noch ein Christusmosaik und die Fenster in der Mittelapsis an die frühere Gestaltung.

Unter der Apsis des nördlichen Seitenschiffes steht heute der Taufstein; dahinter wurde im Jahr 1998 ein Vortragekreuz aufgestellt, welches der Künstler Hubertus von Pilgrim für die Kirche geschaffen hat. Die Ikone in der Apsis des südlichen Seitenschiffes wurde zum Jerusalemer Ökumenischen Kirchentag 1991 von Benediktinerinnen aus dem Ölberg geschrieben. Sie erinnert an die Geschichte Noahs und zeigt Christus als Ebenbild des Vaters, wie er den Regenbogen als Zeichen des Friedens in die Wolken setzt.

Die im neuromanischen Stil gebaute Kirche ist heute das Zentrum der deutsch- und der arabischsprachigen sowie weiterer protestantischer Gemeinden Jerusalems.

Christusmosaik

Nach den umfangreichen Renovierungsarbeiten an der Erlöserkirche ist lediglich das Mosaik des Christuskopfes in der Hauptapsis erhalten geblieben. Durch diesen Christuskopf lässt sich eine Verbindung von Wilhelm II. zu Kaiser Konstantin ziehen:

Das Motiv der Hauptapsis vor der Renovierung erinnert an die Apsis der Lateranbasilika in Rom, die von Konstantin in Auftrag gegeben worden war. Und auch dort befindet sich ein sehr ähnlicher Christuskopf.

Mit dem Bau der Erlöserkirche sieht sich Wilhelm II. in der Tradition Konstantins.

Das schöne Mosaik zeigt seine Wirkung, denn an jedem Platz in der Kirche steht man in Augenkontakt mit Christus.

Kirchenfenster

Die Kirche von 1898 besaß farbige Glasfenster mit ornamentalen Mustern in den vorherrschenden Farben Rot und Gelb, wie sie heute noch in der Hauptapsis zu sehen sind.

Diese Fenster wurden in den Kriegen 1948 und 1967 stark beschädigt, sodass 1971 neue Glasfenster angefertigt wurden.

Sie stammen von der jüdischen Glasmalerin Anna Andersch-Marcus (1914-2005).

In drei verschiedenen Höhen angebracht, wird aus abstrakten Formen und Farbflächen das übergreifende Thema entwickelt: „Aus der Tiefe rufe ich, Herr, zu Dir. Herr, höre meine Stimme“ (Psalm 130,1-2)

Voriger
Nächster

Turm und Glocken

Von der Kirche aus kann man auf den Turm steigen. Insgesamt 177 Stufen führen zunächst zum Glockengeschoss.

Inschriften der drei Glocken (alle vom Glockengießermeister Franz Schilling aus Apolda hergestellt):

  • „TROESTET, TROESTET MEIN VOLK / REDET MIT JERUSALEM FREUNDLICH (JES. 40,1.2) 1897“
  • „CHRISTUS HAT EINE EWIGE / ERLÖSUNG GEFUNDEN (EBR. 9,12) 1897“
  • „DAS JERUSALEM, DAS DROBEN IST / DAS IST DIE FREIE / DIE IST UNSER ALLER MUTTER (GAL. 4,26) 1897“

Vom Glockengeschoss aus führt eine weitere Treppe zum obersten Arkadengeschoss in ca. 40 m Höhe. Der Glockenturm ist der einzige im Zentrum der Altstadt. Daher bietet sich hier ein umfassendes und einzigartiges Panorama: Unmittelbar neben der Erlöserkirche sind die gedeckten Basarstraßen und die Wohnquartiere des Jüdischen, Christlichen, Armenischen und Muslimischen Viertels zu sehen.

Nach Süden schaut man über die Davidstraße zum Jüdischen Viertel mit der Klagemauer. Jenseits der Stadtmauer befindet sich die Davidstadt.

Im Südwesten blickt man über das Armenische Viertel auf die Dormitio Abtei. Weiter westlich erhebt sich die sog. Davidszitadelle vor dem Panorama der Neustadt.

Unten neben der Erlöserkirche befindet sich der „Muristan“ im Christlichen Viertel der Stadt. Die Salvatorkirche der Franziskaner dominiert den Nordwesten dieses Viertels.

Direkt im Norden der Erlöserkirche befindet sich mit der Grabeskirche der heiligste Ort der Christenheit. Nordöstlich davon überblickt man das arabische Viertel mit dem Österreichischen Hospiz, der St. Annenkirche am Teich Bethesda und der Via Dolorosa.

Im Osten der Erlöserkirche befindet sich der ehemalige jüdische Tempelberg, der heutige Haram esch-Scharif mit dem Felsendom und der El-Aqsa-Moschee. Schließlich blickt man jenseits des Kidrontales zum Skopusberg mit der Hebräischen Universität und zum Ölberg mit den Himmelfahrtkirchen, dem jüdischen Friedhof sowie dem „Auguste Victoria Compound“, wo unsere Himmelfahrtkirche, das Auguste-Victoria-Begegnungszentrum mit dem Café und das Deutsche Evangelische Institut für Altertumswissenschaft des Heiligen Landes (DEI) beheimatet sind.

Orgel

Die aktuelle Orgel der Erlöserkirche wurde 1971 von der Berliner Orgelbauwerkstatt Karl Schuke GmbH auf der neu errichteten Westempore gebaut. Sie ersetzte die alte Orgel, die mit dem Neubau der Kirche von der Berliner Firma Dinse gebaut und 1938 von Weigle aus Stuttgart auf 33 Register erweitert worden war. Von dieser Orgel, die etwas erhöht im linken Querschiff stand, wurden einige Gehäuseteile beim Bau der Orgel in der Aula der Universität Haifa wiederverwendet.

Die aktuelle Schuke Orgel wurde 1984 um drei Zungenregister erweitert und hat seitdem 21 Register auf zwei Manualen und Pedal. Die Spiel- und Registertraktur ist mechanisch.

Neben der Orgel gibt es noch eine sogenannte Chororgel. Die Chororgel der Erlöserkirche steht im nördlichen Seitenschiff. Sie wurde 1965 von der Firma Alfred Führer aus Wilhelmshaven erbaut. Seit dieser Zeit stand sie auf der Orgelempore der Johanniterkapelle im Kreuzgang der Erlöserkirche. 2015 wurde sie in die Erlöserkirche umgesetzt und fahrbar gemacht. Die Stimmung wurde derjenigen der großen Orgel angeglichen.

Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung im mittelalterlichen Kreuzgang präsentiert Exponate aus der Geschichte der Erlöserkirche und des sie umgebenen Wohnviertels, des „Muristan“ und beschreibt die Fragestellungen und die Arbeitsweise von Archäologen. Im Mittelpunkt des Interesses stehen die Funde aus den Zeiten Herodes des Großen, Jesus von Nazareth und der Kaiser Hadrian und Konstantin. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bildet die Geschichte des mittelalterlichen „Muristans“ und des damaligen Pilgerlebens. Der Gang „Durch die Zeiten“ endet folgerichtig mit der heutigen kirchlichen Arbeit von „Evangelisch in Jerusalem“ und weiterer protestantischer Gemeinden an diesem Ort.

http://www.church-of-the-redeemer-jerusalem.info/ausstellung/index#top

Ausgrabung

Bei den Ausschachtungsarbeiten zur Errichtung der Erlöserkirche kam es 1893 zu einer archäologischen „Sensation“: Bauarbeiter stießen auf eine Mauer, die Gelehrte als die antike Stadtmauer zur Zeit Jesu identifizierten, von der schon der jüdische Geschichtsschreiber Josephus Flavius berichtet. Die sogenannte „Zweite Nordmauer Jerusalems“ schien gefunden.

http://www.church-of-the-redeemer-jerusalem.info/ausgrabung/index#top